John F. Banzhaf III was called “A Crusading Lawyer Against the Tobacco Industry,” “One of America’s Premier Legal Activists,” the “Most Prominent Champion” of “Potty Parity,” and a “Legal Terrorist.” He found his quotations being collected on the Internet, his mathematics featured in articles and studied in schools, his accomplishments the subject of a case study, and information about him on flash cards. Professor Banzhaf was featured in a PBS special and on a VoA program in China, and he was also discussed in pieces in Brazil, Ukraine, and even Mongolia. His first law article was recently credited for contributing to hacker slang. 

Paul Schiff Berman received the George Washington University Valor Excellence Award for demonstrated excellence in learning and service to the benefit of GW student military members, veterans, and their families. He was also named Distinguished Scholar in Residence by the Center for Transnational Studies at the University of Bremen in Germany.

Arturo J. Carrillo was elected alternate academic board member of the Global Network Initiative (GNI).

The American Library Association designated Lawrence A. Cunningham’s book Contracts in the Real World: Stories of Popular Contracts and Why They Matter (Cambridge University Press 2012) the winner of the Choice Award for Outstanding Title. Contracts in the Real World was also the subject of a nine-paper symposium published in the Washington Law Review (2013). His 2001 book, How to Think Like Benjamin Graham and Invest Like Warren Buffett, was again honored in the 15-year retrospective of the semiannual “JP Morgan Reading List,” where Professor Cunningham was asked about the writing process and inspiration along with authors including Malcolm Gladwell, Jim Collins, Tom Friedman, and Clive Davis.

Lisa M. Fairfax was elected chair of the Securities Regulation Section of the Association of American Law Schools.

Roger Anthony Fairfax was elected to the Council of the American Bar Association Criminal Justice Section. He was featured as one of the “50 Most Influential Minority Law Professors Under 50” by Lawyers of Color magazine.

The Australian government awarded the prestigious Endeavour Executive Fellowship to Iselin Gambert, who spent two months in the spring as a visiting scholar at Melbourne Law School. The fellowship is awarded to high-achieving professionals with the goal of allowing them to further develop their skills and international engagement. During her time in Australia, she collaborated with faculty on innovative ways to bring legal writing and professional development training into the law school curriculum.

Phyllis Goldfarb was appointed to a three-year term (2014–17) by Daniel Rodriguez, dean of Northwestern University School of Law and president of the Association of American Law Schools (AALS), to the AALS Committee on Clinical Legal Education. The committee advises the AALS Executive Committee on issues related to clinical legal education.

Chief Justice of the United States John G. Roberts appointed Orin S. Kerr to a three-year term on the Judicial Conference Advisory Committee for the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure.

Laurie S. Kohn was appointed by D.C. Mayor Vincent C. Gray and confirmed by the D.C. Council to serve on the Domestic Violence Fatality Review Board. The board reviews and analyzes all domestic violence fatalities in the District in an effort to identify gaps in services and ultimately to enhance victim safety.

In April, Sean D. Murphy was elected a counselor of the American Society of International Law for a three-year term.

The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies named Spencer A. Overton as its new interim president and CEO. The D.C.-based organization provides research and analysis to inform major policy debates, with an overarching mission to improve the socioeconomic status and political participation of people of color.

Abraham Pollack was elected to the board of directors of the Association for Legal Career Professionals (NALP).

Alfreda Robinson, JD ‘78, received the Heman Marion Sweatt Award from the National Bar Association (NBA). The award honors individuals engaged in barrier-breaking work who display a commitment to excellence. In June, she was named a Champion of Justice of Judicial Diversity by the Greater Washington Area Chapter of the NBA’s Women Lawyers Division. Presently, she serves as the special assistant to the NBA president for finance and also as liaison to the American Bar Association’s Commission on the Future of Legal Services.

Catherine J. Ross became the senior fellow in the human and civil rights of children at the Center for Children and Social Engagement, a new international think tank and public interest group devoted to children’s educational, legal, health, nutritional, and other needs, with special focus on children in developing nations. The center has received initial funding from Feed the Children. Among other things, Professor Ross will be helping to develop the center’s agenda and writing regularly for the center’s online periodical, The Child

Stephen A. Saltzburg was presented the ABA Grassroots Advocacy Award, given by the ABA Standing Committee on Governmental Affairs, which recognizes individuals and organizations that demonstrate leadership on matters of primary importance to the bar. He received the award for his outstanding efforts in support of some of the association’s most important policy positions as they relate to criminal justice.

In May, Lisa M. Schenck received the George Washington University Valor Excellence Award for demonstrated excellence in learning and service to the benefit of GW student military members, veterans, and their families. 

Pázmány Péter Catholic University in Budapest, Hungary, awarded Dinah L. Shelton with the honorary title of Doctor Honoris Causa for her outstanding activity in the fields of human rights and environmental protection. Professor Shelton was also awarded the Goler T. Butcher Medal by the American Society of International Law (ASIL) for outstanding contributions to the development and effective realization of international human rights law.

Sophia Sim was elected a trustee of the Law School Admission Council, the national organization that administers the LSAT and provides services for prospective JD and LLM students.

Daniel J. Solove was selected to be a reporter for the American Law Institute’s Restatement of Privacy Law Principles, and will be leading the drafting of this project over the next few years. 

The American Law Institute (ALI) announced the election of 69 new members, among them Daniel J. Solove and Edward T. Swaine. ALI elects individuals who “reflect the excellence and diversity of today’s legal profession” and who have demonstrated an interest in law reform. As part of the institute, Professors Solove and Swaine will produce scholarly work that clarifies, modernizes, and otherwise improves the law.