Top Student Advocates

At the Commencement weekend academic awards ceremony, Thomas Collery (left) and Derek Woodman pose with then Interim Dean Gregory E. Maggs after receiving the CourtCall Law School Award for best advocacy program students in the 2014 graduating class.

Thomas Collery and Derek Woodman won the University of North Carolina’s 37th annual J. Braxton Craven Jr. Memorial Moot Court Competition, and Mr. Woodman was selected best oralist. The final bench consisted of Judge William Lindsay Osteen Jr., Middle District of North Carolina; Judge Albert Diaz, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit; and Judge Marjorie Rendell, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit. The competition problem dealt with Fourth and First Amendment issues. 

Mr. Collery and Mr. Woodman also wrote this year’s Van Vleck Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition problem at GW Law, which featured Justice Sonia Sotomayor as the presiding judge. Because of their excellent work on moot court competitions throughout their final year at the law school, they received the CourtCall Law School Award at the annual Awards Ceremony the day before graduation.