Accidents happen all the time in and around Daytona Beach. Knowing what to expect can be beneficial if you find yourself in this unfortunate situation.
One of the first things to understand is that Florida is a no-fault state. There are also time limits regarding how long you have to sue someone for your accident and set insurance requirements for all drivers.
Contact a Daytona Beach car accident attorney to understand how you can recover compensation after a Florida car accident. You can also learn more about Florida’s laws and requirements here.
What Does It Mean That Florida Is a No-Fault State?
Florida and 11 other states in the U.S. are “no-fault” states. This means that you will turn to your own Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance after an accident to cover your accident-related medical costs.
The no-fault laws used in the state were initially established in the 1970s. At this time, the goal of these laws was to help reduce insurance premiums for drivers and to streamline the process of recovering damages.
Unfortunately, the process has become more complex and frustrating for most Florida drivers through the years.
Under this law, if you and another driver are involved in an accident and both experience injuries, you will file a claim with your separate insurance companies. At this point, your insurance company will pay for a percentage of your medical costs up to the maximum of $10,000.
Who Must Have PIP Insurance in Florida?
Since Florida is a no-fault state, all registered and licensed drivers in the state of Florida must purchase and maintain PIP insurance coverage. It’s also required that drivers have Property Damage Liability insurance. The minimum coverage for both these types of insurance is $10,000.
As mentioned above, PIP insurance covers a percentage of your medical costs. PDL coverage will pay for damages to the property or vehicle of the other party if you are found at fault for the accident.
Understanding What Coverage Is Provided by PIP Insurance
As noted above, PIP coverage will handle up to $10,000 in medical costs. Some policies also provide coverage for lost wages.
Medical costs covered by PIP insurance vary based on the accident. However, it is worth noting that these policies have a $1,000 deductible, which means the initial $1,000 of medical costs won’t be covered. Additionally, the insurance company only pays 80% of the total fees. You will have some out-of-pocket costs to cover.
In these situations, it is possible to file a third-party lawsuit if the other driver in your accident is considered at fault. Usually, this is only worth the time and effort if you have experienced severe injuries that result in significant medical costs.
How a Daytona Beach Car Accident Lawyer Can Help You
If you have been involved in a car accident in or around Daytona Beach, hiring an attorney to help with your case is recommended. A Daytona Beach car accident attorney will help you with your case and work to ensure you receive the maximum amount of compensation possible for your claim.